The Day College currently has Department of Sanskrit, Department of English, Department of Historical Studies, Department of Economics, Department of Philosophy, Department of Commerce, Department of Mathematics, Department of Physics, Department of Chemistry, Department of Plant Biology and Plant Biotechnology and Department of Advanced Zoology and Biology. It offers five undergraduate courses in Humanities and Languages, five in Physical and Natural Scienes and one in Commerce with two sections. P.G. courses are offered in three Humanities and four science disciplines. The University of Madras recognizes some of the Science, Humanities and Language departments as Research Departments. These departments are Botany, Chemistry, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Economics, Philosophy and Sanskrit.

All the departments have department associations/committees which apart from the regular meetings for solving the problems of students and faculty also organize lectures by eminent persons. They conduct cultural programmes, quiz competitions, exhibitions etc. Students are also given special coaching for participation in the national and international events like Mathematical Olympiads, science talent search exams and various competitive exams. The advanced learners are benefitted from the various events organized by the departments such as Problem of the Week, Plant of the Day, a Kural every week etc., through which specialized knowledge is imparted. Almost every department has instituted a number of endowments in the form of lab training, lectures, chairs etc.

Every department has a well-stacked departmental library besides the general library. A good number of books have been donated by the faculty and philanthropists. In addtion, there is a book bank scheme in some of the departments funded by the external donors.

The Departments organize meetings/informal discussions and lectures of distinguished alumni, educationalists, academicians and industrialists and obtain their suggestions. These suggestions are reviewed by the departments and suitable inputs/changes are incorporated. The outcome of these meetings has also helped the teachers to adapt themselves to the new teaching methods.

The Departments follow a self-appraisal method for evaluation of the performance of the teaching, research and extension. The part-time teachers are selected based on merit and by performance in a seminar/model lecture. The teachers are encouraged to attend refresher courses, National and International seminars and orientation programmes. The departments also conduct various refreshers programmes and organize seminars and conferences.

The non-teaching staff is provided training from time to time for improving their technical skills.


Every department has formed an Association with the intention to use it as a forum to provide proper exposure to the students, develop their skills, enhance healthy competition among them, develop team spirit and train the students to prepare to face the outside world.

The following Department  are operational in the Day College.

The following Department Associations are operational in the Day College.

  1. Sanskrit Association
  2. History Association
  3. Philosophy Association
  4. Mathematics Association
  5. Chemical Association
  6. Zoology Association
  7. Tamil Association
  8. English Associaiton
  9. Economics Associaiton
  10. Commerce Associaiton
  11. Physics Associaiton
  12. Botany Associaiton
  13. Sports Associaiton

Head of the respective departments are the President of the above said associations. The students are expected to take part actively in all the programmes of the respective associations.