Mathematics

Mathematics

Profile

The growth and achievements of the Department can be broadly viewed in four phases :

  •  I Phase – Pre Silver Jubilee period 1946 – 1971.
  •  II Phase – Silver Jubilee to Golden Jubilee period 1971 – 1996.
  •  III Phase – Golden Jubilee to Diamond Jubilee 1996 –2006.
  •  IV Phase – Post Diamond Jubilee 2006 – till date.

The College started in 1946 with Mathematics at the Intermediate and B.Sc.Courses only. B.A. Honours course was started during 1949. The three years Honours Course was then replaced by the new two years M.Sc. Course in 1958. In the year 1980, the Department was upgraded from being a prominent postgraduate teaching Department to a Research Department offering facilities to pursue M.Phil and Ph.D. degree in various topics of specialization like Number Theory, Analysis, Stochastic Processes, Partial Differential Equations, Fuzzy Algebra, Differential Geometry, Graph theory, Algebra etc.

Contact Details

Department of Mathematics

Phone: 044-24993057
Email: hod_maths@rkmvc.ac.in

Department Working Hours: 8.30am to 1.45pm
Head of Department: Dr T. Jagathesan

Faculty

S NoNameQualificationDesignationCategoryArea of SpecializationEmail
  1.Dr. T. JagathesanM.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.DAsso Prof, HODAidedNumber Theoryjaga@rkmvc.ac.in
  2.Dr. K. KumarasamyM.Sc.,M.Phil., Ph.D.,Asso ProfAidedNumber Theorykkumar@rkmvc.ac.in
  3.Dr. S.ManimaranM.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.,Asso ProfAidedFuzzy Systemsmanimaran@rkmvc.ac.in
  4.Dr.V.SelvanM.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.Asso ProfAidedAlgebra, Fuzzy Algebra, Rough Algebravenselvan@rkmvc.ac.in
  5.Sri R.SoundararajanM.Sc., M.Phil.Asst ProfAidedAlgebrarsoundar@rkmvc.ac.in
  6.Dr. M.RamakrishnanM.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.DAsst ProfAidedMathematical Statiticsmramkey@rkmvc.ac.in
  7.Sri S.JayasankarM.Sc., M.Phil.,Asst ProfAidedAutomata Theory, Formal Languagesjayasankar@rkmvc.ac.in
 8.Dr. S.M.A. Shahul HameedM.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.,Asst ProfAidedFuzzy Logic & Fuzzy Setssmashahul@rkmvc.ac.in
  9.Dr. N. Vishnu GaneshM.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.,Asst ProfAided
  10.Dr. T. KarthikeyanM.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.,Asst ProfAidedStochastic Modelingkarthick@rkmvc.ac.in
  11.Dr. R. SubbarayanM.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.,Asst ProfAidedLattice Theory,
Universal Algebra
rsubbarayan@rkmvc.ac.in