The growth and achievements of the Department can be broadly viewed in four phases :

  •  I Phase – Pre Silver Jubilee period 1946 – 1971.
  •  II Phase – Silver Jubilee to Golden Jubilee period 1971 – 1996.
  •  III Phase – Golden Jubilee to Diamond Jubilee 1996 –2006.
  •  IV Phase – Post Diamond Jubilee 2006 – till date.

The College started in 1946 with Mathematics at the Intermediate and B.Sc.Courses only. B.A. Honours course was started during 1949. The three years Honours Course was then replaced by the new two years M.Sc. Course in 1958. In the year 1980, the Department was upgraded from being a prominent postgraduate teaching Department to a Research Department offering facilities to pursue M.Phil and Ph.D. degree in various topics of specialization like Number Theory, Analysis, Stochastic Processes, Partial Differential Equations, Fuzzy Algebra, Differential Geometry, Graph theory, Algebra etc.

Contact Details

Department of Mathematics

Phone: 044-24993057
Email: [email protected]

Department Working Hours: 8.30am to 1.45pm
Head of Department: Dr T. Jagathesan


S NoNameQualificationDesignationCategoryArea of SpecializationEmail
  1.Dr. T. JagathesanM.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.Asso Prof, HODAidedNumber Theory[email protected]
  2.Dr. K. KumarasamyM.Sc.,M.Phil., Ph.D.Asso ProfAidedNumber Theory[email protected]
  3.Dr. S. ManimaranM.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.Asso ProfAidedFuzzy System[email protected]
  4.Dr.V. SelvanM.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.Asso ProfAidedAlgebra, Fuzzy Algebra, Rough Algebra[email protected]
  5.Sri R. SoundararajanM.Sc., M.Phil.Asst ProfAidedAlgebra[email protected]
  6.Dr. M. RamakrishnanM.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.DAsst ProfAidedMathematical Statitics[email protected]
  7.Sri S. JayasankarM.Sc., M.Phil.Asst ProfAidedAutomata Theory, Formal Languages[email protected]
 8.Dr. S.M.A. Shahul HameedM.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.Asst ProfAidedFuzzy Logic & Fuzzy Sets[email protected]
  9.Dr. N. Vishnu GaneshM.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.Asst ProfAided
  10.Dr. T. KarthikeyanM.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.Asst ProfAidedStochastic Modeling[email protected]
  11.Dr. R. SubbarayanM.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.Asst ProfAidedLattice Theory,
Universal Algebra
[email protected]